Deviant Login Shop  Join deviantART for FREE Take the Tour
About Digital Art / Artist Premium Member Daniel Eskridge41/Male/United States Groups :icondaz-artists-guild: Daz-Artists-Guild
Dream Creativity Render Reality
Recent Activity
Deviant for 5 Years
7 Month Premium Membership
Statistics 460 Deviations 40,070 Comments 88,627 Pageviews

Newest Deviations

Favourites

deviantID

deskridge's Profile Picture
deskridge
Daniel Eskridge
Artist | Digital Art
United States
I am a forty-something living in the Metro-Atlanta area -- one of the few people who was actually born and raised here. I'm married and have two sons. By day, I am a software engineer at a small company. But, by night I am a 3D render artist.

I have dual degrees from the University of Georgia, one in Computer Science, the other in Fine Art. So, it seems only natural that I attempt to combine the two by producing art using a computer. Plus, I find that it's a bit more practical than painting as it doesn't require all of the clean up, harsh chemicals, or expensive supplies.

I have been a render artist since some of the first ray-tracing programs were made publicly available in the mid 80's. To date, I have completed over four-hundred images, many of which can been seen in my gallery on this site.
Interests

Artist Links

Here are some links to artists and illustrators that have inspired me.

Contemporary

Keith Parkinson www.keithparkinson.com/
Michael Whelan www.michaelwhelan.com/
Rodney Matthews www.rodneymatthews.com/main.ht…
Roger Dean www.rogerdean.com/
Larry Elmore www.larryelmore.com/
Clyde Caldwell www.clydecaldwell.com/
Brom www.bromart.com/
Boris Vallejo www.imaginistix.com/
Frank Frazetta www.frankfrazetta.net/


Historical

Francisco de Goya www.artrenewal.org/pages/artis…
Jean-Honore Fragonard www.artrenewal.org/pages/artis…
Maxfield Parrish www.artrenewal.org/pages/artis…
Lord Fredrick Leighton www.artrenewal.org/pages/artis…
Sir Lawrence Alma-Tadema www.artrenewal.org/pages/artis…
John William Waterhouse www.jwwaterhouse.com/
Jean-Auguste-Dominique Ingres www.jeanaugustedominiqueingres…
Jean-Leon Gerome www.jeanleongerome.org/

Comments


Add a Comment:
 
:iconzwavelaar:
Zwavelaar Featured By Owner 3 hours ago  Hobbyist Digital Artist
Thanks for the+fav
Reply
:iconeportsblade:
EportsBlade Featured By Owner 15 hours ago  Hobbyist Digital Artist
Thank you for the fave!
Reply
:iconevoluzione:
evoluzione Featured By Owner 18 hours ago  Hobbyist General Artist
Thank you for the :+fav:!!! :squee:
Reply
:iconmanfromabora:
ManFromAbora Featured By Owner 1 day ago  Hobbyist Digital Artist
Thanks for the fave!
Reply
:iconcapn-gary:
capn-gary Featured By Owner 1 day ago
Thanks for the faves, Daniel. Are you going to the Dragon Con this weekend??
Reply
:icondeskridge:
deskridge Featured By Owner 1 day ago   Digital Artist
Likely no.  My wife went down there this morning to do some shopping in the vendor area.  she's texting the play by play there.  I stayed home with a cold and two sick children.
Reply
:iconcapn-gary:
capn-gary Featured By Owner 1 day ago
Awww.... 

Hope you get to feeling better... I try and stay away from people so I don't end up with their colds, flu, etc... ;) 
Reply
:iconfotomaster03:
FOTOMASTER03 Featured By Owner 2 days ago  Professional Digital Artist
Thanks for the fav!
Reply
:iconhowardhd:
HowardHD Featured By Owner 2 days ago  Student Digital Artist
would u recomend sculptres or zbrush to someone new to sculpting ?
Reply
:icondeskridge:
deskridge Featured By Owner 2 days ago   Digital Artist
If you plan on doing organic things, then Sculptris for sure.  It's free, easy to use, and so powerful that I still use it to start all original sculptures.  

I use zbrush to finish sculptures (give them texture and paint them) and to create less organic shapes or to alter models.  
Reply
Add a Comment: